SLES Staff Members Recognized with FCPS Excellence Awards

By Department of Human Resources
November 09, 2018
programs from the excellence awards ceremony
Programs at the 2018 Excellence Awards.

Congratulations to the Stratford Landing Special Education Team of Stacey Brooks, Becky Corey, Delilah Edwards, Chelsea Frumkin, Kristine Gunther, Agnes Kwofi, Brandt Lapko, Elaine McPherson, Kerri Moran, Monica Stratton, Brittney Valcin, Erin VanAllan, Philippa Vangelder-Hindman, Susan Walsh who were recognized at the annual FCPS Excellence Awards Ceremony in the "Impact on Others" Category.

The FCPS Excellence event was held at Fairfax High School on October 16 and was attended by Superintendent Dr. Scott Brabrand, members of the FCPS Leadership Team, members of the FCPS School Board, and other distinguished guests. Our staff members were recognized for their contributions during an informal reception and a formal ceremony. The following excerpt from their nomination packet was read while each member of the team received their certificate.

Our Special Education Team exceeded expectations in supporting students when a colleague unexpectedly left in the middle of the year. Each teacher had a full caseload and, without hesitance, problem solved as a team to support these students. They worked tirelessly with the classroom teacher, substitutes and parents to plan for, monitor and deliver quality special education instruction during their planning times, lunch times, and before and after school. This team’s exemplary work went beyond the school day. All students made expected progress, despite the fact that they were without their designated special education teacher. We celebrate this team for modeling for all of us what it means to work as a Professional Learning Community –whatever it takes, they certainly got the job done!

Thank you to the Special Education Team for your contributions to Stratford Landing Elementary School!

Thank you as well to Principal Maureen Marshall for taking the time and effort in writing the nomination packet for this award as well as to Assistant Principal Christine Prahl and Assistant Principal Shannon Shirley for writing letters of support.